As one of the best DWI Law Firms in Houston, the best advice on how to avoid a DWI in Houston we can give is to simply not drink and drive. However, if you are convicted of a DUI or DWI, you face potentially stiff fines and penalties which could include jail time.
Jail time can potentially be devastating for an individual facing a DUI conviction. Jail time could result in difficulties for your family and job. However, the judge may offer you probation which would require the mandatory attendance of Houston DWI classes. Regardless, if you are facing a DWI conviction, or need assistance navigating the complex Texas DWI laws in Houston, let Tyler Flood & Associates help you! Our highly trained and specialized lawyers are ready to help tackle your DWI case!
For example, if you are convicted, a judge may sentence you to 180 days in jail, pay a $1,000 fine with a 1-year suspension of your driver’s license. However, if your sentence is probated, the judge may say “your jail sentence is probated for one year, $500 of your fine being probated and your driver’s license suspension is probated.” Basically, probation means that you will not have to serve jail time, pay only $500 of your fine, and have no suspension on your driver’s license, as long as you are not convicted of a crime within the 1 year probation period.
As a condition of your probation, you may be required to attend Houston DWI classes. These classes cover a variety of topics pertaining to DWI’s and the effects of drugs and alcohol on both your body and community. The classes go even further to discuss how alcohol/ drugs affect the mind and the ability to drive, the effects of chemical dependency, and even sources of assistance for those that need it. The idea is to inform and educate first-time DWI offenders on the potential cost and consequences of a DWI and how to make better decisions. Generally, these classes are 12 hours in length and involve multiple sessions. It is important to attend these sessions or you risk violating your probationary requirements.
DWI classes in Houston last 12 hours. Many organizations that offer DWI classes are flexible with scheduling and offer multiple classes in different time slots. Most classes are also split up into multiple sessions such as 3 sessions that are 4 hours each or vice versa. In order to save your driver’s license from being suspended, you have up to 180 days to complete the class. Upon completion of the course, you will be mailed a certificate of completion with supporting documents to give to the courts.
When attending your Houston DWI classes, you need to bring a few items. These items are needed in order to correctly process your completion of the DWI class. The items needed include the following:
Costs: Approx. $90 to $125 In-State
Times: Different options for all schedules.
Both English & Spanish speaking classes are available
If you forget any of these items for your DWI education class in Houston, it may delay you receiving credit for completion or even deny it all together.
The Texas DWI DIVERT Pretrial Diversion Program is another potential option for first-time offenders. This program is very similar to getting probation for your sentence but a few key distinctions. The main distinction is that, upon completion of the DIVERT Program, your case will be dismissed. Upon dismissal, you can also have the records of the DWI expunged from the records. There are a number of criteria associated with this program. In order to successfully navigate the program, retain the services of Tyler Flood & Associates. Our specialized DWI lawyers in Houston will fight for you!
Facing a DWI conviction is tough. However, you do not need to face this challenge alone. The lawyers and attorneys at Tyler Flood & Associates will battle for your rights. We offer comprehensive DUI and DWI defense in Houston and aim to provide superior standards of professional service. Our aggressive team will leave no stone unturned, giving you a fighting chance for a favorable outcome.
Even if you are already convicted, Tyler Flood & Associates have extensive DWI experience and understand DWI laws. We can help advise you on your next course of action, potentially getting your life back on track. For your first DWI conviction, you can avoid jail time altogether by getting a probated sentence. After completing the necessary requirements, you may be able to conceal your DWI from the public.
Learn more when you contact our Houston DWI attorneys at Tyler Flood & Associates. Schedule your free initial consultation now.
The Harris County District Attorney’s office notified defense lawyers on Wednesday that a crime-scene investigator made errors in 65 cases.
In a newly obtained video, a Houston Police officer is seen balling his fist, punching a woman in the face and slamming her to the floor of a drunk-tank cell after she swung her elbow at the officer while questioning the no-refusal blood test.
The Harris County District Attorney's Office has dismissed 90 pending misdemeanor and felony drug cases after a deputy improperly destroyed evidence at the Precinct 4 Constable's Office.
The Harris County District Attorney's Office is forced to throw out more than 140 cases so far after it was discovered over 21,000 pieces of evidence was destroyed by the Precinct 4 Constable's Office.
The Harris County District Attorney's office is re-evaluating a decade's worth of DWI cases. This comes after the credentials of an expert witness, a toxicology analyst, were called into question.
There are over 1,000 cases under review because of the misuse of evidence. While 142 have been dismissed thus far, there has been a high number of cases in which evidence has been destroyed - most of the cases involving drug crimes.
After and expert's qualifications have been questioned, there are nearly 10 years of DWI cases being under review in Harris County.
After being questioned about her credentials in DWI cases, a woman responds publicly.
Expert witness has been accused of lying on the stand and moved down to a lower level position.