The best advice any lawyer can give to prevent a DUI or DWI in Houston is not to drink and drive. However, sometimes people make mistakes where they face Texas DUI laws in Houston. These mistakes can follow you for the rest of your life and even prevent you from getting a job, starting a downward cycle. As one of the top lawyers for DUI and DWI in Houston, I aggressively fight for your rights. You do not need to fight this battle alone.
The drunk driving consequences in Houston can vary depending on many factors. Generally, these factors can include the previous number of DUI or DWI offenses, blood alcohol content (BAC) and the persons involved. These are categorized by Texas penal code by the number of offenses.
For a first time conviction of a DUI or DWI in Houston with a BAC of less than .15, you could face fines, a jail sentence, drivers license suspension or any combination of these penalties. The penalties can vary depending on the blood alcohol level. With a BAC of less than .15, the conviction would be a Class B Misdemeanor with a fine not to exceed $2,000. However, with a BAC of over .15, you will be charged with a Class A Misdemeanor, and your fine can increase to $4,000. The same goes for jail time with a Class B Misdemeanor receiving between 3 to 180 days and a Class A Misdemeanor receiving up to 1 year. For first time offenders with a BAC between .08 and .14, you can apply for a non-disclosure agreement 2 years after your probation ends. A non-disclosure can prevent people from seeing your DUI or DWI conviction in Houston, though it does not entirely conceal your conviction. Call us today for more info on how Tyler Flood & Associates can help your DUI case in Houston.
With a second conviction, there are a few changes to the penalties involved. If you are facing a second DWI in Houston, the maximum fine can increase to $4,000, 30 days to 1 year of imprisonment, and a potential suspension of your driver's license for 180 days to 2 years. This would be a Class A Misdemeanor. Unfortunately, after a second DWI in Houston conviction, you would be ineligible for a non-disclosure agreement meaning that there is not a way to conceal your DUI or DWI in Houston.
If you are facing a third DWI conviction, the consequences are potentially even worse. The maximum fine goes up to $10,000 with the possibility of 2 to 10 years of imprisonment. Your driver's license can also get suspended ranging from 180 days to 2 years. A Houston 3rd degree DWI conviction is also a 3rd-degree felony, which disqualifies a person from voting or even possessing a firearm. If you have been convicted of 2 or more DWI’s within a 5-year span, the courts may require a special ignition switch that prevents you from driving the vehicle if you have been drinking. This is a dramatic loss in one’s freedom. If you are facing a DUI or DWI in Houston, or need advice to help understand Texas DUI laws in Houston, give Tyler Flood & Associates a call. Our lawyers understand DUI fines in Houston, as well as the laws associated with them, and will help you fight for your rights.
The best way to avoid a DUI fine in Houston is not to drink and drive. However, if you are pulled over for the suspicion of drinking and driving, here are some tips we generally give clients to avoid a DWI in Houston. These are not all-inclusive and only represent some general situations.
You have the right to refuse a breathalyzer test. While the penalty for refusing is a 180-day suspension of your license, you do have a 15-day window to request a hearing on your license suspension. During this time, you need to retain the services of a highly skilled and specialized DWI lawyer in Houston. From here, we can beat the possible drunk driving consequences in Houston.
Yes, you can refuse to take a sobriety test under Texas DUI laws in Houston. While there are no specific penalties for a sobriety test refusal, the officer may deem that probable cause to arrest. Your refusal may also be used as evidence during a trial. It is essential that you speak clearly and politely to law enforcement as anything you do and say can be used against you. For example, it is advised not to lean against anything or do anything that would suggest that you are intoxicated.
To beat the drunk driving consequences in Houston, you must first understand how to convicted. Under Texas DUI laws in Houston, it must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt that your blood alcohol level was over the legal limit or you were impaired in a way that was not safe to drive a motor vehicle, as well as operate a motor vehicle in a public place. By following the tips above, it makes it harder for a prosecutor to convict you a DWI in Houston without viable evidence.
Most importantly, retain a Houston DWI attorney from Tyler Flood & Associates. Call us today at (713) 497-1223 to schedule your free initial consultation after you have been pulled over in Texas.
The Harris County District Attorney’s office notified defense lawyers on Wednesday that a crime-scene investigator made errors in 65 cases.
In a newly obtained video, a Houston Police officer is seen balling his fist, punching a woman in the face and slamming her to the floor of a drunk-tank cell after she swung her elbow at the officer while questioning the no-refusal blood test.
The Harris County District Attorney's Office has dismissed 90 pending misdemeanor and felony drug cases after a deputy improperly destroyed evidence at the Precinct 4 Constable's Office.
The Harris County District Attorney's Office is forced to throw out more than 140 cases so far after it was discovered over 21,000 pieces of evidence was destroyed by the Precinct 4 Constable's Office.
The Harris County District Attorney's office is re-evaluating a decade's worth of DWI cases. This comes after the credentials of an expert witness, a toxicology analyst, were called into question.
There are over 1,000 cases under review because of the misuse of evidence. While 142 have been dismissed thus far, there has been a high number of cases in which evidence has been destroyed - most of the cases involving drug crimes.
After and expert's qualifications have been questioned, there are nearly 10 years of DWI cases being under review in Harris County.
After being questioned about her credentials in DWI cases, a woman responds publicly.
Expert witness has been accused of lying on the stand and moved down to a lower level position.