713-224-5529

Penalties for Third DWI Conviction in Texas: TX DWI Penalties Part 3


The third time is
definitely not the charm when it comes to driving while intoxicated (DWI) arrests and convictions in Texas. If the reasoning behind the last two convictions is to be believed, then a third-offense DWI arrest indicates the driver has a proclivity to drive recklessly. The state will go to great lengths to penalize a person convicted for a third-time DWI and make it incredibly difficult for that individual to get back on the road.

Penalties for a third-time DWI conviction in Texas include:

  • Fine up to $10,000
  • Up to 10 years imprisonment, possible minimum of 2 years
  • 2-year license suspension
  • $2,000 annual surcharge for 3 years to retain license
  • 32-hour DWI intervention course completion
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) installation

Texas No Longer uses a 10-year look-back period when determining if someone has committed a subsequent DWI or not. For example, if you were convicted of a DWI in 1980, 2000 and then get arrested again, it will be a felony.
It doesn’t matter when the two prior convictions occur.

Any subsequent offense after the third will be subject to much of the same penalties. However, a judge may decide to
revoke a driver’s license for an extended period of time, beyond the usual two years, if the convicted driver appears to be a consistent hazard on the road.

How to Avoid Getting a DWI

Everyone is capable of making a big mistake and getting behind the wheel while dangerously intoxicated. Not only does this put everyone on the road, including you at risk, but it could also lead to DWI conviction after DWI conviction.

In order to avoid getting a DWI, keep these safety tips in mind:

  1. Someone in your group should be a designated driver each time you go out for drinks. If you are going out on your own, then do not have any alcohol that night.
  2. At the beginning of any party you attend, ask the host if there is a place for people to spend the night if they become too intoxicated to drive home safely.
  3. Use a ridesharing app on your smartphone – there is probably Uber or Lyft preinstalled on your device already – to get home safely.

Talk Defense Options with Tyler Flood & Associates

You cannot hesitate to try to protect yourself from the heavy consequences of a third-time or more DWI conviction in Texas. You could be without a vehicle for years
after your prison sentence or probation period ends. Keeping a job or continuing higher education may become impossible without a motor vehicle.

With so much on the line, you need to know you can trust the criminal defense lawyer you select to represent you. Houston DWI Defense Attorney Tyler Flood is backed by years of experience focused mainly on DWI cases, an impressive history of successful case results, and a gallery of professional awards, distinctions, and memberships. You can get a free consultation with our law firm to find out how we can help uphold your rights and fight to keep you on the road – just
contact us now to begin.

Tyler Flood
By: Tyler Flood
Jul. 26 2017
Posted in DWI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Client Testimonials

Read More Testimonials
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Texas Criminal Lawyers Association
  • Harris County Criminal Lawyers Association
  • DUI Defense Lawyers Association
  • The American Chemical Society
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • Better Business Bureau
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Texas Criminal Lawyers Association
  • Harris County Criminal Lawyers Association
  • DUI Defense Lawyers Association
  • The American Chemical Society
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • Better Business Bureau
Flood Lewis & Associates