Administrative License Revocation:
In the state of Texas, if your license is revoked there should be a notice of revocation or suspension. Once you receive this notice it should state the reason for revocation, the effective date of revocation, the right to a hearing, how to request a hearing, and the period of time in which a person can request a hearing.
Driving while License Invalid:
If you are driving with a license that is expired, has been revoked, suspended, or have been living in a state for more than 30 days without that states issued license, you are driving with an invalid license. If you are caught this could lead to several consequences.
Driving while License Suspended:
If a person is charged with operating a motor vehicle during the time of his license suspension he could face a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500, confinement in jail of not less than 72 hours or more than 6 months, and could be charged with a class a misdemeanor if prior convictions.
Driving while Intoxicated (DWI):
In section 49.04 of the Texas penal code a person commits a crime if the person is intoxicated (with a blood level of .08 in the state of Texas) while driving a motor vehicle. This is a class B misdemeanor and has a penalty of a minimum 72 hour confinement. Depending on the circumstance there could be many penalties, license suspension/revocation, longer jail time, possible felony charge on your record; this is a serious matter that should be handled by an experienced lawyer.
Felony Evading Arrest in a Motor Vehicle:
If a person is found guilty of evading arrest in a motor vehicle this is state jail felony, if he has been previously convicted this is a of the third degree.
If a person is charged with reckless driving, this is a misdemeanor and that person could face having to pay a fine, face spending time in jail, or both.
Running a Red Light:
The Texas law stats that the only time in which it is ok to run a red light is when there is a traffic or police officer directing traffic thru that intersection, or if you are operating an authorized emergency vehicle.
Unauthorized use of a Motor Vehicle:
This is considered a state jail felony under Texas penal code 31.07.
Unsafe Lane Change:
A person could potentially be pulled over for changing lanes unsafely in a vehicle. You could be pulled over for something as simple as not using your blinker, or changing lanes too closely to another car. This could result in a ticket and fine.
The Harris County District Attorney’s office notified defense lawyers on Wednesday that a crime-scene investigator made errors in 65 cases.
In a newly obtained video, a Houston Police officer is seen balling his fist, punching a woman in the face and slamming her to the floor of a drunk-tank cell after she swung her elbow at the officer while questioning the no-refusal blood test.
The Harris County District Attorney's Office has dismissed 90 pending misdemeanor and felony drug cases after a deputy improperly destroyed evidence at the Precinct 4 Constable's Office.
The Harris County District Attorney's Office is forced to throw out more than 140 cases so far after it was discovered over 21,000 pieces of evidence was destroyed by the Precinct 4 Constable's Office.
The Harris County District Attorney's office is re-evaluating a decade's worth of DWI cases. This comes after the credentials of an expert witness, a toxicology analyst, were called into question.
There are over 1,000 cases under review because of the misuse of evidence. While 142 have been dismissed thus far, there has been a high number of cases in which evidence has been destroyed - most of the cases involving drug crimes.
After and expert's qualifications have been questioned, there are nearly 10 years of DWI cases being under review in Harris County.
After being questioned about her credentials in DWI cases, a woman responds publicly.
Expert witness has been accused of lying on the stand and moved down to a lower level position.