713-224-5529

Texas DWI Class Requirements

A first-time driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense is classified as a class B misdemeanor. However, a DWI conviction has more added conditions and penalties than a standard misdemeanor. If you’re granted probation, the court may order you to attend an educational program specially designed for people convicted of a DWI.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure § 42A.403 states you’re required to complete your DWI classes within 180 days of your conviction. The court can choose a program for you or you can find a third-party who offers DWI educational courses. If you decide to use a third-party program, it must be approved by the appropriate agencies which are:

  • The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)
  • The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
  • The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)
  • The Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ)

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DWI, it’s imperative you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Attorney for DWI Class Requirements in Houston, Texas

A DWI conviction isn’t just overwhelming, but it’s also time consuming. You may be court-ordered to attend an educational program for intoxicated offenders. It’s also commonly referred to as DWI classes. If you or someone you know was arrested for a driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, it’s crucial you gain legal representation.

Find that representation today Flood Lewis & Associates, Inc.. Our attorneys are experienced in DWI defense. We have assisted numerous clients navigate DWI school and other added sentencing conditions. Contact us today at (713) 224-5529 to schedule a consultation today. Flood Lewis & Associates, Inc. accepts clients throughout the greater Harris County area including Pasadena, Tomball, Bellaire and Houston.

Overview of DWI Classes in Texas


Purpose of DWI Classes in Texas

The state of Texas is struggling with an ongoing DWI crisis. In 2016, Texas had the highest number of alcohol-impaired driving fatalities in the nation. A title they sadly claimed in 2015 as well. Texas legislation has attempted to deter drunk driving with stringent DWI laws. These laws have added sentencing conditions which include DWI classes.

The purpose of DWI classes is to stop the vicious cycle of drunk driving. In the past, DWI offenders simply carried out their sentences without any rehabilitation. This did not seem to be effective, so Texas has imposed an educational program requirement for DWI offenders. The classes focus on the destructive nature of DWI and the dangers of alcohol or substance abuse.

DWI classes also discourage people from committing multiple DWI offenses. The court requires you to pay for the entirety of the class. Typically, a DWI class can range from $90 to $125 dollars. If you have multiple DWI offenses, the classes may be even more expensive. Your license will also be revoked until you have successfully completed the classes.

Listed below are some topics covered in DWI classes.

  • The consequences of a DWI;
  • Substance and alcohol abuse;
  • Recovering from chemical dependency;
  • How drugs and alcohol affect your driving;
  • The effects drugs and alcohol have on the body; and
  • How to make better decisions while drinking alcoholic beverages

Back to top

Types of DWI Classes in Texas

Texas divides DWI classes by criminal history. If this is your first DWI offense, then your class will be a total of 12 hours. Classes are usually conducted over three or four days or you can complete it online. DWI classes for a first-time offender usually range from $90 to $125, which you are required to pay.

If you have multiple DWI convictions, you’ll need to take a more extensive DWI class. A multiple DWI offender class will take 32-hours and can be conducted over seven weeks. It’s also pricier than a first-time DWI class at approximately $300.

Minors who are charged as juveniles with a DWI may also be required to take an educational DWI program. These classes are around 6 hours long and can be completed in two days. It’s the least costly of the DWI courses at $60.


Back to top

What to Bring to Your DWI Classes in Texas

If you’re attending a DWI class at a facility, you’ll be required to bring a few items. All of these items are needed to process your participation in DWI class. If you’re completing your DWI class online, then you’ll be required to submit these documents to the appropriate location.

The items you’ll need to attend DWI class include:

  • Driver’s license or the number itself;
  • Paperwork of your court-order to DWI class
  • Social security number;
  • Case number

Back to top

What Happens if You Don’t Go to DWI Classes in Texas?

DWI classes are not a choice. If you were court-ordered to attend DWI courses, then you’re legally required to attend classes. In addition, you must complete this program within 180 days of your court-order. Failure to attend class or complete the program on time will result in administrative penalties.

If you don’t complete DWI classes in time, then DPS will either:

  • Revoke your driver’s license; or
  • Prohibit you from obtaining a license

Your license will only be reinstated once you’ve completed DWI school. Additionally, you’ll be barred from obtaining an occupational license.


Back to top

Additional Resources

Find a DWI Class – Visit the official website of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). Access their search engine to find a DWI course near you. You can search for classes by zip-code, county, city, or the program provider.

Texas DWI Class Procedures – Visit the official website for the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure to learn more about educational programs for drunk drivers. Access the statues to learn more about their requirements, how to get classes waivered and consequences for not attending class.


Lawyer for DUI Courses in Harris County, Texas

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DWI, it’s imperative you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. The penalties for drunk driving are serious and can lead to jail time. Not only this, but you may be court-ordered to attend DWI courses.

Contact an attorney at Flood Lewis & Associates, Inc. for quality legal representation. The attorneys at Flood Lewis & Associates, Inc. have years of experience with a passion for criminal defense. We will utilize our skills, resources and knowledge to help you obtain the best possible result for your case.

Call us now at (713) 224-5529 for a free consultation. We accept clients throughout the greater Houston area including West University Place, Pasadena, Bellaire and Uptown.



This article was last updated on March 7th, 2019.

Client Testimonials

Read More Testimonials
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Texas Criminal Lawyers Association
  • Harris County Criminal Lawyers Association
  • DUI Defense Lawyers Association
  • The American Chemical Society
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • Better Business Bureau
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Texas Criminal Lawyers Association
  • Harris County Criminal Lawyers Association
  • DUI Defense Lawyers Association
  • The American Chemical Society
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • Better Business Bureau
Flood Lewis & Associates