Fighting a DWI Charge in Texas

Fighting a DWI Charge in Texas

Criminal Defense & DWI Video Series by Houston DWI Attorney, Tyler Flood

Other videos in this series:

DWI Defense Firm Seeking Justice
How to Select a Qualified DWI Attorney
Should you Plead Guilty or Fight your DWI Charge?
How to Successfully Fight a Texas DWI Conviction
Overview of the Houston Criminal Defense Law Firm, Tyler Flood & Associates

DWI Video Summary:

Should you Plead Guilty or Fight your DWI Charge?

Yes, you should fight a DWI case. So many times the state does not have enough evidence to convict you. Sometimes the video does not show the individual being extremely intoxicated. Sometimes the jury understands that it can make you look like you are going to lose your balance when placing your feet together and tilting your head back and close your eyes. It’s not about if you had one or two drinks, it’s about what the state can prove and many times they do not have the evidence to convict you of DWI.

Consequences with pleading guilty to a DWI in Texas results in a class B misdemeanor conviction. It will be on your record for the rest of your life. There is no way to seal it off your record. Facing up to $2,000 in fines and 180 days in jail. Your drivers license can be suspended up to 6 months if you refuse to take a blood test. If plead guilty in court the judge can suspend your license up to one year. There are also court cost and attendance in DWI classes. DPS will send you a litter to pay a DPS surcharge. If you do not pay your surcharge you will be fined again.

Always consult with an experienced attorney.